Heartfelt Goodbye From My 11year old Niece

This is a poem, or should i say something my 11 year old niece wrote for me 3 years ago when i was leaving home to go to university in a different continent, to her it seemed like a world away..So i just dug it up today after talking to her on my phone and thought i should post it.. 🙂

Iv been thinking about this day since you told me your big news
That you will be leaving me to go far away to school
What i will say at our last parting
Your joking with me was our way of bonding,connecting
We always knew we were closer than everyone else
And everyday i came from a rather boring day in school
I would tell you all that happened,even the tiniest bits
And i would look at you through out to see if you were bored listening to me
But you never were, it seemed like everything i was saying was the most interesting news you had ever heard
And today the mood is just different, today your mind is elsewhere as i tell you my usual daily experiences
And it just hit me, tomorrow will be our the day you leave
I know i should be happy for you, but all i can think about is you not being there for me at the end of the day to listen to my stories
I never like saying goodbye to people i love, but for you i will tell you this is not goodbye
Simply see you later
So i will hug you tightly and then let you walk away, but know that you should go and not look back at me
Because you will find me crying as i already miss you
I feel like some one is cutting my heart in 2 and taking the other half with them
Please don’t forget about me in your new life and always know that i love you very much Aunty..
And when you come back it will be like you never left..
34 thoughts on “Heartfelt Goodbye From My 11year old Niece

  1. For an 11 year old that is mighty impressive!!

    Especially this: “And i would look at you through out to see if you were bored listening to me
    But you never were, it seemed like everything i was saying was the most interesting news you had ever heard”

    Where are you from and where do you live now?

  2. beautiful, angelic and heartfelt, for an 11year old this is pretty impressive, gifted by talent i would say. you should encourage her to write more. in this poem she didn’t mash up or hide her feelings but set them to words in a innocently pure way. she got all the basics covered for writing heartfelt poetry. it’s so nice of you to post this poem and share with us, thank you.

    • aaaww.. i didn’t mean to make you cry, but you have nothing to be ashamed of.. if something tugs at your heart hard enough to bring out tears, then you should just let them out.. thank you so much for your lovely comment, i’m glad i touched you this much.. 🙂

  3. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww how sweeeeeeeet and cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :’)
    such a sweet little girl 🙂
    u r one luck aunt 😀

Leave a Reply

